I was searching online for the purchase of a compost thermometer when I happened to chance upon Olive Ventures.

In a nutshell, it is another sincere display of local efforts in green living. I particularly enjoyed the simplicity of the website’s content and design.

I might be dropping by for a visit at their store soon at 26A Sago Street too ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope they sell compost thermometers!

Oh yes, do check out their eco-blog. It seems to be regularly updated with interesting bite-size information on green activities in Singapore and around the world.

Do you know of any other local efforts in composting, recycling and green/eco living? Do share them here!

7 responses »

  1. Christina Crane says:

    Michelle and Joe – just wanted to say great efforts! I have a compost bin (a Can O’ Worms), but my worms died… if you have any contacts where I could buy new worms, I would greatly appreciate it! In the interim, I’m using my organic scraps to make a garbage enzyme (a cleaning solution).

    If you’re interested in my local effort, I have a Facebook page called Locavore Singapore where I write my efforts on finding locally grown and produced foods here!

    Christina

    • Joseph Solomon says:

      Thank you Christina for dropping by and thank you for your encouragement as well! Off-hand I can say that I’ve seen some worms sold at our local (and by local I mean Bukit Batok) fishing tackle store. Not too sure if their composting worms but we will get back to you! I’ve got a friend who worked on a vermi-composting project about a year back, I’ll check with him and let you know again.

      God bless!

      • jasmine says:

        Which part of bukit batok sells the worms? And are they still there?

      • Hi Jasmine, if I remember correctly, there is a mini aquarium shop just on the right side of the main entrance of the kopitiam. This kopitiam is located just beside (on the right) of the Bukit Batok EAST Community Club.

        Do note that the worms that Joseph mentioned are meant to feed fish! They’re not composting worms of any sort. Hope this helps! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Michelle Sarah says:

      Hi Christina!

      I just visited Olive Ventures (http://www.oliveventures.com.sg) at their shop today, and yes they sell composting worms!

      They are located at 26A Sago Street, where they also sell vermicomposting bins. I will be sharing some interesting stuff I found at their shop soon, so do feel free to drop by at this blog!

      Also, I found this interesting forum thread online – http://www.greenculturesg.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=14347

      You might want to check it out directly with worm seller directly. Do keep us updated! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Mary Jane says:

    Hello! And congrats on your good sharing of information. Can you give me any info on where to buy a compost thermometer. They are actually very helpful, when you want to monitor your fermentation rate. Good to get the thermometer with slightly longer probe, say 24 inches.

    • Michelle Sarah says:

      Hi Mary Jane! I totally agree with you; my fiance and I have been on the search for compost thermometers in Singapore for the same purpose ๐Ÿ™‚

      So far we have not found any places/persons in Singapore who are selling compost thermometers. However, there are plenty being sold online.

      Here is one of the many links where you can purchase a good compost thermometer:

      http://humanurehandbook.com/store/Compost-Thermometers/

      Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

