I was reading newspapers in the living room, when my dad walked by. While he was opening the gate to leave for work, he chuckled and said,

“I ate a lime and threw the unwanted seeds into our compost bin. Instead of composting, they are growing into plants!”

Immediately, I got up from the sofa and peeked into one of the bins. Indeed, there are two young seedlings with the freshest, brightest, greenest leaves I’ve ever seen!

An overall view. Can you see the two seedlings?

A closer look at the two seedlings

Seedling 1

Seedling 2

My fiance Joseph couldn’t help but slap his forehead with amusement. He said, “Of course the seeds will be growing in compost!”

My brother Eliah finds it intriguing and hilarious too. Curious, both of them paused a (really noisy) zombie Playstation game to check out the bins for themselves.

Like me, there was an inevitable smile on their faces.

After this “unexpected expected discovery”, we’re all just pleasantly surprised by the high potency of our DIY compost. You see, you don’t even need to mix the compost with soil. The plants grow incredibly healthily in compost alone. 🙂

It’s amazing what our trash at home can do for us.

I guess we also should “think twice” before throwing anything into our compost bins. We may just end up with a mini forest in a container! Hehe.

Finally, I’d like to say that the bins have been very convenient for us. Instead of having to walk all the way to the kitchen to dispose of eaten fruit cores, peanut shells etc, we could simply play a mini game of basketball by aiming for the compost bins right outside our door. 😉

4 responses »

  1. Kristina says:

    What a delightful surprise!

  2. lainelee says:

    Hello Michelle, I just moved to Singapore not too long ago from Australia. I had 2 huge compost bin going at my backyard and really enjoyed checking it every few days. The good thing is that you can throw anything and just let nature do its thing.
    When I moved here and living with my mother-in-law who has no passion for anything green, I decided to hide in a black plastic bag some soil, pre-bought compost, some kitchen scraps and dried leaves I ‘stole’ from the public places downstairs. Lo and behold, after 2 months, it all turned black and ready for use. I’m growing mint, chilli, basil (from seeds I stole from the neighbour’s plant) and few bits and pieces. It is interesting going from big and to no land, but nothing is impossible. My next heap has got plenty of rambutan skin and twigs.
    Really excited to have found your blog.

    • Hi Lainelee, thanks for dropping by! Indeed composting is still relatively new in Singapore; there is great value in it, but a lack of conducive environment, education and awareness for composting to take place on a significant and meaningful scale.

      Nevertheless, we believe that composting will be increasingly important in the near future, especially in view of climate change and rising food costs. Hence this blog to start the ball rolling by sharing how easy it is to compost, even in apartment flats. Like you, we believe that “nothing is impossible”! 🙂

      Thank you for sharing such wonderful tips, Lainelee! We’ll definitely try them out and blog our observations. We look forward to hearing more from you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

